Wonderful PakistanWonderful Pakistan
Forgot password?

Federally Administered Tribal Areas

The Federally Administered Tribal Areas is a semi-autonomous tribal region in northwestern Pakistan, bordering Pakistan’s provinces of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan to the east and south, and Afghanistan’s provinces of Kunar, Nangarhar, Paktia, Khost and Paktika to the west and north. The Federally Administered Tribal Areas comprise seven tribal agencies (districts) and six frontier regions, and are directly governed by Pakistan’s federal government through a special set of laws called the Frontier Crimes Regulations (FCR).

The territory is almost exclusively inhabited by the Pashtuns, who also live in neighbouring province of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Northen Balochistan, they are largely Muslims. The main towns of the territory are Parachinar, Miranshah, Razmak, Kaniguram, Wana, Kalaya, Landi Kotal, Ghalanai and Khaar.

Division of Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA)

The Federally Administered Tribal Areas consist of two types of areas i.e. Agencies (Tribal Districts) and FRs (Frontier Regions). In the Federally Administered Tribal Areas, there are seven Tribal Agencies and six FRs. These are (from North to South):

  • Bajaur Agency
  • Mohmand Agency
  • Frontier Region Kohat
  • Orakzai Agency
  • Kurram Agency
  • Frontier Region Bannu
  • North Waziristan Agency
  • Frontier Region Tank
  • South Waziristan Agency
  • Frontier Region Dera Ismail Khan

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.